Founding Members

Christopher Raymond

Professor of Sustainability Transformations and Ecosystem Services


Professor of Sustainability Science (Sustainability Transformations and Ecosystem Services) at the Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science (HELSUS), University of Helsinki.

Marketta Kyttä

Professor of Land Use Planning

Professor of Land Use Planning in the Department of Built Environment, Aalto University.

Nora Fagerholm

Adjunct Professor (Docent) and Academy Research Fellow

Adjunct Professor (Docent), Department of Geography and Geology, University of Turku.


Adaji-Agbane Williams

Student, University of Ibadan

Alex Lechner

Senior Lecturer, Lincoln Centre for Water and Planetary Health, University of Lincoln, UK

Anna Broberg

PhD, Co-founder & COO, Maptionnaire, Finland

Anna Kajosaari

Post-doctoral researcher, Department of Built Environment, Aalto University, Finland

Anna Scaini

Researcher, Department of Physical Geography, Stockholm Univeristy

Annette Jezierska

CEO, The Future Fox

Anton Stahl Olafsson

Associate Professor, Landscape Architecture and Planning, Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management, University of Copenhagen

Ayla De Grandpre

UBC Okanagan

Brenda Chavez

Research Associate – The MECCE Project

Brian Schermer

Associate Professor of Architecture, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Caitlin Hafferty

PhD student, Countryside and Community Research Institute (CCRI), University of Gloucestershire

Carolin Klonner

Dr. Institute of Geography, Heidelberg University

Carolina Carvalho

DSc in Environmental and Energy Planning, Researcher and consultant in Participatory Geographic Information Systems, Researcher at the Energy and Environment Institute – São Paulo University (USP)

Chris Ives

Assistant Professor, School of Geography, University of Nottingham, UK

Christian Albert

Professor, Institute of Geography, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany

Christoph Baumeister

Forstliche Versuchs- und Forschungsanstalt Baden-Württemberg, Department of Forest and Society

Dr Amanda Alderton

Postdoctoral Fellow, RMIT University

Dr. Suresh Francis

Scientist, Kerala State Remote Sensing and Environment Centre (KSREC)

Edyta Bąkowska-Waldmann

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Human Geography and Planning, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland

Felix Hallikainen

PhD researcher, Department of Geography and Geology, University of Turku

Haiyun Xu

Dr. Beijing University of Civil Engineering and Architecture

Hannah Gibbs

Researcher, Extreme Citizen Science Group, UCL

Ian Babelon

Research Fellow, Northumbria University

Iga Kołodyńska

Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences

István Valánszki

Associate professor, Department of Landscape Protection and Reclamation, Hungarian University of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Budapest, Hungary)

Jarrod Cusens

PhD Candidate, University of Bergen, Norway

Jessie Pechmann

Global GIS Manager at Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team

Jiri Panek

Department of Development and Environmental Studies, Palacky University Olomouc

Jon Corbett

Prof the University of British Columbia

Joshua MacFayden

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair, University of Prince Edward Island, Canada

Kamyar Hasanzadeh

Post-doctoral researcher, Department of Built Environment, Aalto University, Finland

Katrina Virtanen

Doctoral Student and Project Researcher in Cultural Production and Landscape Studies, University of Turku

Keli Gerken, DVM

Postdoctoral Scholar, Stanford University School of Medicine

Lucia Brisudová

PhD candidate at the Department of Geography, Palacký University Olomouc, The Czech Republic

Maarit Kahila-Tani

PhD, Co-founder & CEO, Maptionnaire, Finland

Mahbubur Meenar

Associate Professor, Rowan University, USA

María García-Martín

Postdoctoral Researcher, Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL, Switzerland

Mario Torralba

Post-doctoral Research Fellow, Social-ecological Interactions in Agricultural Systems Research Group, University of Kassel

Marta Ducci

PhD candidate at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Matt Kirby

PhD Researcher: Department of Geography & Environmental Sciences, Northumbria University

Menare Royal Mabakeng

Namibia University of Science and Technology, Department of Land and Property Sciences

Nadezhda Gerasimova


Niina Käyhkö

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and Geology, University of Turku

Pilvi Nummi

Post-doctoral researcher, Department of Built Environment, Aalto University, Finland

Prof Phil Cohen

Livingmaps Network

Reto Spielhofer

Norwegian Institute for Nature Research – NINA

Salla Eilola

Post-doctoral Researcher, Department of Geography and Geology, University of Turku

Samira Ramezani

Assistant Professor, Department of Spatial Planning and Environment, Faculty of Spatial Sciences, University of Groningen

Sergio Alvarado Vazquez

PhD Candidate, University of Twente

Silviya Korpilo

Post-Doctoral Researcher, Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences/Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science (HELSUS), University of Helsinki

Stefanie Burger

PhD Candidate

Susana Lopez-Aparicio

Senior Scientist, NILU – Norwegian Institute for Air Research, Norway

Tiina Rinne

Post-Doctoral Researcher, Department of Built Environment, Aalto University, Finland

Timo von Wirth

Professor for Sustainability at Frankfurt University and Asst. Professor Dutch Research Institute for Transitions (DRIFT)

Tobias Plieninger

Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Development, Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany and Faculty of Organic Agricultural Sciences, Kassel University, Witzenhausen, Germany

Valtteri Nurminen

PhD Researcher, Department of Built Environment, Aalto University, Finland

Vera Hausner

Professor, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology, The Arctic University of Norway

Will McClintock

Senior Fellow, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis

Participatory Mapping Institute
Copyright 2020